Day 10: Describe your most embarrassing moment.

February 17, 2014

Part of the 30 day challenge series

Ian, I took myself way too seriously in junior high.  The height of my self-conscious, accept-me-like-me-be-my-friend, think-me-cool phase.  I was a cheerleader (my hiatus-from-being-a-tomboy years), and game days were a highlight of my week.  We could wear our cheerleading uniforms instead of the usual school uniforms on game days, so I enjoyed the special privilege and extra reason to stand out.

One day, there was a big game against our rival school.  Some of the local high schoolers came to watch the game, too.  The gym was packed.  I was sitting on the stage with the rest of the squad, and I was laughing and joking with one of my friends.  Of course I was being loud to draw attention to myself.  Look at me, look at me.

Then suddenly, I lost balance — I’m not sure how — and fell off the stage, almost straight into the trash can below me.  I didn’t drop straight into the trash can though.  I kind of half-fell in, so I knocked it down and ended up on the gym floor with trash all around me.  In front of a captive junior high, high school audience.

Roaring laughter ensued.

I didn’t know what to do.  I was mortified.  So I laughed really hard on the outside, like hahaha that was hilarious!  But I wanted to die.  My friend jumped down to help me, and as we made our way back up to the stage, a couple high school girls stopped me.

“Omigosh, that was SO funny!  Will you be at X High School next year?”

“Heh heh heh, yea …”

“That’s awesome!  Whenever we see you, we’ll be like, ‘W’sup Trash Girl!'”

I was horrified and covered it with more empty laughter.  Please let me die right now.

Trash Girl didn’t follow me to high school because we moved that following summer, but in terms of the deepest level of embarrassment I’d ever felt in a single moment, this was it.

It isn’t the most embarrassing thing that could happen to a person.  But maybe our most embarrassing moments have less to do with the actual event and more to do with the state of our hearts.  Are we puffed up?  Do we think too highly, too much of ourselves?  Then the harder the fall.

Looking back, I’m glad Trash Girl happened.  It did my conceited, self-absorbed heart good!

Leave a Reply

