Day 25: If you could have dinner with anyone in history, who would it be and what would you eat?

March 11, 2014

Part of the 30 day challenge series

I’m going to assume this excludes my ancestors (namely my paternal grandma) and historical figures in Scripture.

Dinner Companion: Elizabeth Prentiss was a very close second, but my first pick would be Sarah Pierrepont Edwards, Jonathan Edwards’ wife.  I’ve been fascinated by her life and legacy since reading Marriage to a Difficult Man: The Uncommon Union of Jonathan and Sarah Edwards by Elisabeth D. Dodds and the chapter about her in Noel Piper’s Faithful Women and Their Extraordinary God.  The likes of George Whitefield were impressed by her love for God, her husband, her children, and her home.  She was the backbone of Jonathan Edwards’ family.  I might have wanted to sit down with someone else in another season of life, but in this one, she seems just right.

Meal: I’d want to sit in her kitchen and eat whatever she typically served her kids (not Jonathan Edwards as he often only wanted a dry crust of bread — no thanks! haha).  Also, if I remember correctly, she had a reputation for always having soup on hand in case a hungry stranger knocked on her kitchen door.  If that’s inaccurate, I’d still want to sit at her table; sometimes you can learn a lot simply by eating at someone’s everyday table.

And as a related thought …

Ian, who I’d want you to eat dinner with: William Wilberforce, English politician who led the movement to abolish the slave trade.  That’s the first person who comes to mind.  I’m sure someone else will pop into my head as soon as I publish this, and I can think of other fascinating men in history … but three main reasons why this dude: (1) He was faithful to the Lord in a secular job.  He kind of makes me think of a mix between Daniel and Queen Esther, who humbly used their government positions for good.  (2) Abolishing the slave trade wasn’t a one-day deal.  He had to creatively persevere for a long time to do this.  (3) He seems like he would be a great dinner companion for a young boy.  He was a great conversationalist and natural in his manner.  Someone like Martin Luther would be neat, but I can’t imagine a young boy stomaching much food in his presence?  Haha.

Leave a Reply

